How to Unlock Samsung Transform Ultra if Locked by too Many Patterns

by Aaron Parson

    After five incorrect attempts at unlocking your Samsung Transform Ultra by drawing your unlock pattern, the phone will prevent you from making further attempts. In order to unlock your phone, you need to either use your backup PIN or your Google account information. If you cannot provide either option, you will need to contact your mobile service provider to reset your phone, or perform a manual factory reset, which will result in the loss of your saved data.

    Backup PIN

    Step 1

    Tap "Backup PIN" in the corner of the unlock screen.

    Backup PIN

    Step 2

    Type the PIN you created when setting your unlock pattern. When you enter the correct code, your phone will prompt you to create a new unlock pattern.

    Backup PIN

    Step 3

    Draw a new unlock pattern to use for future unlocks. After confirming your new pattern, your phone will unlock.

    Google Account

    Step 1

    Press "Forgot Pattern" if you do not know either your unlock pattern or your backup PIN. This option only appears after five failed unlock attempts.

    Google Account

    Step 2

    Enter the Google account name and password you used when setting up the phone. Logging in to a different Google account will not work. If you did not enter a Google account during setup, you cannot use this method.

    Google Account

    Step 3

    Create a new unlock pattern when prompted after Google authenticates your account. After drawing your new pattern, your phone will unlock and display the home screen.

    Tips

    • The Transform Ultra differs from the original Transform in preventing further unlock attempts after five mistakes. The original model would only block further attempts for 30 seconds instead of permanently.
    • If you can't remember your Google account password, reset it from your computer in order to log in on your Transform Ultra.
    • If nothing else works, you can perform a factory reset on your phone to regain access. This will erase all your information. Turn the phone off; then hold the "Volume Down" button while pressing "Power." Scroll down to "Wipe data/factory reset" using the volume buttons and press the "Power" button to pick it. Scroll down to "Yes -- delete all user data" and select it to erase your phone's data. Press "Power" again to pick "Reboot system now."

    About the Author

    Aaron Parson has been writing since 2006, contributing to several technology websites. He has also worked with MacNeil/Lehrer Productions. Parson holds a Bachelor of Arts in English and journalism from The Evergreen State College in Olympia, Wash.